Skip to main content

Our Story

A History of Excellence

For more than 60 years, we’ve designed places—schools, hospitals, offices—that inspire learning, connection, and growth. We have a long history, a history we’re proud of, but what’s more important than where we’ve been is where we’re going.

The places where we work and learn shape who we are. They impact creativity, make or break collaboration, and act as springboards for opportunity. At KMBR, we are continually searching for ways to improve the human experience and help people realize their potential. This is what we do, and what we strive to do every day.

  • 1958

    Firm is founded in Dawson Creek by George Killick and Norm Metz

  • 1967

    Development of Steel Construction System for schools that helped to change the face of schools from Ministry of Education Stock Wood Framed Designs

  • 1972

    Tom Bowen named KMBR Principal

  • 1974

    Jim Rose named KMBR Principal

  • 1989

    Heritage Canada Award – Northern Alberta Railway, Train Station and Grain Elevator

  • 1990

    Design Excellence Award – Maplewood House care Home

  • 1991

    5 new principals named: Witmar Abele, George Boorman, Gregg Brown, Cristina Marghetti, Wallace Winkler

  • 1993

    Honoured BC Hydro Powersmart Award for Design Excellence – Two Schools

  • 1994

    Leader in Resource Conservation and Fast-Tracking with Roy Stibbs School Fire Replacement in Coquitlam built in only 7 months. Praised by the Minister of Education as ‘The fastest built school in the history of the Province’

  • 1995

    First Concrete Tilt-up school designed and constructed in Canada

  • 1996

    City of Surrey Design Awards – Good Shepard Start of the Sea Parish and Cindrich Elementary

    Design-Build competition winner – Kinnikinnik Elementary, Sechelt

  • 2000

    Design Excellence Award – Terry Fox Secondary School

  • 2002

    P3 Excellence Award – Chilliwack 5 Corners Project

  • 2003

    Revit Integration

  • 2006

    Heritage Woods Secondary School – the first LEED Silver certified school in Canada and first LEED certified school in BC.

    BC Wood Award – Architect of the Year + AIBC Lieutenant Governor General Award for Moricetown Gas Bar

  • 2008

    BC Wood Award for use of Western Red Cedar in UBC Walter C. Koerner Forestry Centre at Loon Lake

    Design Excellence Award – Ladysmith RCMP

    Killick Metz Bowen Rose Architects Planners Inc. becomes KMBR Architects Planners Inc. with the retirement of all the firm’s original Principals + milestone of being in business for 50 years

  • 2009

    CEFPI Pinnacle Award of Merit – Sutherland Secondary School

    Introduction of KMBR’s Holistic Project Delivery process

    First LEED Gold project completed: Crawford Bay Elementary-Secondary School

    Fortis BC PowerSense Conservation Excellence + SAB Canadian Green Building Award: Crawford Bay Elementary-Secondary

  • 2010

    BC Wood Award – Crawford Bay Elementary-Secondary

    Design-Build Competition winner – Rosedale Traditional Community School & Yarrow Elementary School, Chilliwack, BC

  • 2011

    Design-Build Competition winner – Westview Elementary, Powell River

    Selected by PartnershipsBC to participate on the Wood First Advisory Committee to provide strategic guidance to Forestry Innovation and Investment

  • 2012

    Development of Workshop on 21st Century Learning: “21st Century Learning; Personalizing Learning In the Built Environment”

    Mark Hamilton named KMBR Principal

    Fortis BC PowerSense Conservation Excellence Awards for Southern Okanagan Secondary and Summerland RCMP

    Design-Build Competition winner – Mission Complex Care & Community Health Clinic

  • 2013

    Design-Build Competition winner – Gibsons Elementary School

    Design-Build Competition winner – Kitsilano Secondary School

    Bassem Tawfik named KMBR Principal

    Crocus Ridge, Whitehorse Hospital Staff Residence and Medical Facility – LEED Silver Certified

    College of the Rockies: Kootenay Centre Expansion – LEED Certified

    Adams Road Elementary – LEED Silver Certified

  • 2014

    Wood WORKS! BC Community Recognition Award for Summerland RCMP

    Westview Elementary – LEED Gold Certified

    Southern Okanagan Secondary School – SICA Commercial Building “Judges Choice-Award of Excellence” for Community Facilities

  • 2017

    Principal Mark Hamilton retires

    Design Build Competition Winner – New Westminster Secondary School